Living simply, not for simplicities sake, but in order to give more. Giving our kids perspective in order to make them content and compassionate and grateful for all we have been given…ultimately Jesus’ death on the cross, so that we can serve and worship God more fully and effectively.

“We know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to His purpose.” (Rom 8:28) Not the shallow happiness “good” but the character-building-conforming-to-the-image-of-Christ-“good”. “For it is God who works in you, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Php 2:13).” “And I am sure of this, that He who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ (Php 1:6).”

A quote from the book “Stepping Heavenward” which I am reading and can totally relate to:
“It is a marvel to me why God allows characters like mine to defile His Church. I can only account for it with the thought that if I ever am perfected, I shall be a great honor to His name, for surely worse material for building up a temple of the Holy Ghost was never gathered together before. The time may come when those who know me now, crude, childish, incomplete, will look upon me with amazement, saying, “What hath God wrought!” “

